StreamingSoundtracks.com
VIP
Subscribe to become a VIP member of SST!

· Request More Often
· Unshared Requests
· Request Countdown Timer
· Request Ready Indicator
· Your Request History
· Access To The VIP Forum
· Add More Favorites

:: Click Here To Upgrade ::

:: Give VIP as a Gift ::

Click Here To Listen

Donation Meter


Make donations with PayPal!
Monthly Goal:
$500.00

Need:
$480.00

2 Donations:
$20.00

1980s.FM (Jul-2) Tonks $5.00
StreamingSoundtracks.com (Jul-1) Caliburn $15.00

 


Last Month's Donors
Death.FM (Jun-30) SeclusionSolution $35.00
Entranced.FM (Jun-30) AkuAku $10.00
1980s.FM (Jun-30) ZeframCochrane $15.00
Adagio.FM (Jun-30) AkuAku $50.00
Adagio.FM (Jun-30) PeteC $100.00
StreamingSoundtracks.com (Jun-30) Tonks $10.00




BACK IN TIME...1985


:: Link to Varese Sarabande ::

:: Forum Thread ::


Partners


:: Link To Us ::
:: Add Your Link ::

SSTore



:: SSTore ::


Follow Us


Windows Media

Search

 

Android App

Windows Phone App

 There are 445 Reviews Done 


45 pages: 1 2 3 ... 43 44 45 

Barrington Pheloung - Magic Of Inspector Morse, The
Great Music From Barrington Pheloung
By: YashaWhiteTiger
Date: 15 Jun 2015
Rating:

"Inspector Morse theme song", "Goodbye Sir", "The Remorseful Day" are just a handful of music that is one of my favorites from this album, Give a listen and enjoy. Inspector Morse is one of the best British series ever to come along and Pheloung's music was a major part of its success.


Shinkichi Mitsumune - Revolutionary Girl Utena
Music to Revolutionize the World!
By: LadyInque
Date: 4 Jun 2015
Rating:

This is the first soundtrack from an anime series from 1997. The title character enrolls at an exclusive school and finds herself drawn into a world of sword duels, secret histories, and magic. The music for the series was perfect for it, in turns dramatic, silly, and marvellous.

The music on this album falls into two main categories: eclectic instrumental score and pop/rock vocal tracks. Let’s talk about the score first. The main theme of the show is heard throughout the album. It gets its humblest expression as a piano solo in “Sunlit Garden.” The “Revolutionary Girl – Overture” is a lush, orchestral version of it. The rest of the score dances around various sounds. “She is Refined,” “Her Tragedy,” and “Eros’ Dance” sound very classy and classical. “Passionate” and “Duelists” are jazzy. Pipe organ melodrama can be found on “The Memory of an Idea” and “Legend -- The God’s Name is Abraxas”. “Alien Kashira” and “Prayer to Dios” are strange and beautiful, respectively. If you’re not familiar with the series, then these instrumental tracks are probably your best bet to explore. Some of them are quite lovely, and there is ample piano, if that’s something that you like.

Tracks 23, 26-33 are vocal tracks, which are played during the duels on the show. “Absolute Destiny Apocalypse” is one of the most famous tracks, and it played in almost every episode. It’s rock, it’s catchy, and the lyrics, should you understand the Japanese, don’t make any sense. It appears three times on the album, in regular, “Industrial Mix” and Karaoke versions. Track 35, “Truth,” is the end credits music for the first arc of the series, and sounds like standard J-pop to me. I’m not a fan, but your mileage may vary. I think these vocal tracks have more limited appeal to non-fans. If you are a fan, then you may have a favorite duelling theme. You may also be mourning the lack of track 2, “Rondo Revolution,” as I am.

I think this album is great for fans of the anime. This is good music, but out of the context of the show, I think the instrumental tracks are more rewarding for listeners here at SST.


Jeremy Zuckerman - Legend Of Korra, The: Original Music From Book One
Great music for a great series
By: LadyInque
Date: 4 Jun 2015
Rating:

This is the score from the first season of The Legend of Korra, which was a sequel series to Avatar: The Last Airbender. The score was released after much clamoring by fans, and it’s totally worth that effort. For those of you unfamiliar, these series take place in an Asian-inspired fantasy world where some people have the ability to control (“bend”) one of the four elements. The Avatar is the only one who can bend all four, and “bring balance to the world.”

As with the music for the original Avatar, Korra features a lot of great fantasy score, with an Asian flavor and instrumentation. Tracks like “Fresh Air,” “A Peaceful Place,” and “Firebending Training” underscore Korra’s bending training, and the traditions of this world, so they have the most traditional sound. This comes from the performances of Hong Wang on erhu and other Chinese instruments. This traditional instrumentation is also highlighted in the music for the antagonist of the series, “Amon” and “Chi Blockers.”

But this album also reflects the changing world of the Avatar. While the first series took place in a world on the cusp of an industrial revolution, Korra takes place 70 years later. There are skyscrapers, airships, and cars on every street. The sounds of this world are different, too. One of the most striking things about this album are the dixieland-style numbers, which serve as underscore and come through the characters’ radios. The Angel City Dixieland Band are the ringers on “Air Tight,” “Hittin’ on All Sixes,” and “Squeaky Rags.” On tracks like “On the Lam,” this sound mixes with the Chinese instruments to create a hybrid sound perfect for the series.

The hybrid sound continues with the epic score music. Tracks like “Republic City Under Attack” and “War” are great for action. “Before,” the longest track on the album, plays during the villain’s backstory. It’s slow and sad (in a good way!) “Greatest Change” is the emotional finale of the show. It starts slow, and builds.

This score is here and ready for you to explore. You won’t be disappointed.


Squrl, Jozef Van Wissem & Squrl, Jozef Van Wissem - Only Lovers Left Alive
Strange minimalist rock and lute
By: LadyInque
Date: 4 Jun 2015
Rating:

Only Lovers Left Alive is a movie about two married vampires named Adam and Eve. They’ve been alive for centuries, and in the film they’ve been living on different continents for a few years. Adam, feeling depressed, reaches out to Eve, who leaves her home in Tangiers, Morocco, to visit Adam in Detroit. Their idyllic reunion is interrupted by a disastrous visit from Eve’s sister.

The music for this movie was written by SQÜRL (the band of which the film’s director, Jim Jarmusch, is a member) and lute player Jozef van Wissem. Some tracks feature just the band, while others feature the lute with varying support from the band. The entire score sounds minimalist and experimental to my ears, with more ostinato than melody, and no real themes. I think they were trying, with the SQÜRL tracks, to evoke the current loneliness and aesthetic of Adam, who in present-day Detroit is a rock musician. “The Taste of Blood” features diegetically as music written by Adam, and heard by the characters in a club. “Feel Free to Piss in the Garden” has a driving baseline, and sounds like something is actually happening on screen besides attractive people moping.

On the other hand, the tracks with the lute seem to signal the timelessness and sadness of the immortal couple at the center of the film. The mostly solo lute on “In Templum Dei” sounds myserious, as befits the title. “Streets of Tangiers” has the expected Middle-Eastern flavor.

Before I go, I’d like mention the two vocal tracks left off SST. “Funnel of Love” is a SQÜRL remix of a song by Wanda Jackson. It’s the first thing you hear in the movie and sets the tone for the whole thing, so I’m sorry not to see it here. The other is “Hal,” sung by Yasmine Hamdan, whose performance is featured in its entirety in the movie. It’s hypnotic – go check it out.

Request: “Taste of Blood,” “Feel Free to Piss in the Garden,” “Streets of Tangiers,” “Our Hearts Condemn Us”
Avoid: “Diamond Star.” It’s more noise than music.


James Horner, Will Jennings James Horner - Mask Of Zorro, The
The Mask of Zorro
By: YashaWhiteTiger
Date: 21 May 2015
Rating:

"I want to spend my lifetime loving you" is my most favorite song from this movie. "Zorro's theme" is also a great one.

"The Fencing Lesson" was great one, but the whole soundtrack is such a great soundtrack to listen to! Hope you enjoy this! <3


Oliver Wallace - Peter Pan (1953)
Great soundtrack for a childhood movie
By: YashaWhiteTiger
Date: 15 May 2015
Rating:

This movie has the great soundtracks to "Second Star To The Right", "Your Mother and Mine" and "Follow The Leader".

Always loved the music. My most favorite song is "Second Star To The Right" however I still hear my mom singing to me the song "Your Mother and Mine", made me cry everytime.

Give this soundtrack a listen and enjoy!! <3


Hans Zimmer, John Lithgow / Ellen Burstyn / Casey Affleck / Jessica Chastain / Matthew Mcconaughey / Mackenzie Foy - Interstellar
Gorgeous music
By: Mosess06
Date: 8 Feb 2015
Rating:

I really like this composition of Hans Zimmer. He was totally able to prepare music you can lose yourself in. Well that ist the reason why I have to give 5 stars. Maybe there are different minds about it, however, I think I have very good reasons to insist on my rating

3 of 3 found this review helpful

Jerry Goldsmith - Logan's Run
A personal favorite.
By: FireHorsePrime
Date: 25 Jan 2015
Rating:

Before Star Wars, before Star Trek the Motion Picture, in 1976 there was a fat ten year old suburban brat who was spinning this soundtrack on his father's console stereo system in the basement of their midwestern home, and loving every minute of it. That fat kid was me, and Logan's Run, which I acquired for it's weird synthetic timbres, would be my initiation into a world of Goldsmith's music that I cherish to this day. On the surface it's not entirely one of Jerry's most memorable scores but his signature blend of synth and orchestra are in top form.

The story follows a futuristic cop named Logan 5 who is a law enforcer in a technologically advanced domed city, who gleefully exterminates "Runners", life loving criminals who do not follow their destiny to "renew", which is basically a suicide path set out by the rule makers of this enclosed utopia. As a result he runs into a rebel named Jessica who is helping runners find a path to escape called "Sanctuary", and before he knows what's going on the powers that rule everyone's lives force him to investigate where these runners are off to. The ones that make it outside the city of course.

Suspicious of their activities, Logan's blood thirsty BFF "Francis" follows them both on their adventure, which is ripe with odd encounters with the cities lost boys, treacherous perils with a laser happy plastic surgeon, and all underscored by the maestro in traditional Goldsmith fashion.

Most of the good stuff is heard in queues such as "Flameout" a Danse Macabre that follows the self immolation of the city's thirty somethings. "Love Shop" is another weird and wonderful ear wig with synthetic phrases that have little form but plenty of erotic substance. "Intensive Care" (now combined with "A Little Muscle" on the FSM re-release) is an excellent action cue that builds the suspense of the laser scene, and Jerry's love theme is quite romantic, although a little bit more like elevator music in the final track.

As mentioned I wanted this album for it's synth work, but after all these years my favorite track is the glorious orchestral piece "The Sun", in which Jessica and Logan see our star for the first time outside of the city.

The legacy of Goldsmith is well established and certainly nothing new to me, as his ability to create music that lasts within and without the film is a true testament to his abilities, and I still find myself enjoying this score almost 40 years after I got my pudgy hands on it. As time went on I learned more and more of how vital Goldsmith was to film music long before Logan's Run, and it's been a grand adventure discovering his work which was so prolific, I'm still hearing new favorites ten years after his passing.

If you love Jerry and you've never heard Logan's Run, I think it's time to renew.

1 of 1 found this review helpful

Sam Hulick, Clint Mansell, Christopher Lennertz (...) - Mass Effect 3
Beautiful music
By: Mosess06
Date: 6 Nov 2014
Rating:

I can indeed recommend the soundtracks of Mass Effect 3. In my opinion they are the best soundtracks compared to all Mass Effect pieces of music. Bioware or EA did not saving money when they commisioned these tracks.

In particular I like: "An End Once And For All" as well as "I was Lost without you" and the best part still persists "Leaving Earth". However, I think I am not alone with my favourites.

Thats all I have to say, respects from Germany

1 of 1 found this review helpful

Dennis Martin - Legend Of Dragoon, The
I like Legend of the Dragoon
By: Jostanos
Date: 13 Oct 2014
Rating:

Legend of the Dragoon is an excellent Playstation game to play.
It has action, drama, suspense, Dragons, Magic, a wonderful sound track, and a little comedy thrown in for "giggles".
If my PS2 wasn't broken I would probably be playing it.


45 pages: 1 2 3 ... 43 44 45 


Chat


Events & Birthdays
David Shire (78)
Frederic Talgorn (54)

maverick0703 (35)
matte54 (32)
Talon (31)
MaxPeck

User Info
Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname

Password


(Register)


Membership:
Latest: VIJKandis5
New Today: 2
New Yesterday: 3
Overall: 37256

People Online:
Visitors: 177
Members: 19
Total: 196

Online Now:
United States Ampzilla
Denmark Cpmonster View Your Favorites VIP
United States deejer View Your Favorites
Germany DieTeeFee View Your Favorites VIP
Germany Donnhart View Your Favorites
Czech Republic Eleanor View Your Favorites VIP
Canada Fox View Your Favorites VIP
Finland GalFin View Your Favorites VIP
USA grammadee
UK Greenfrog
Poland kubaCE
UK MarcusHalberstram View Your Favorites VIP
Germany NickDemus View Your Favorites VIP
Poland olaziolek View Your Favorites VIP
France rider14 View Your Favorites
Netherlands SiriusCreations View Your Favorites VIP
USA TechD View Your Favorites VIP
Germany Victor View Your Favorites VIP
UK yellowplanet

Legend:
Proprietor
Administrator
Moderator
Ambassador
Visitor Mod
Composer
  VIP Member



Copyright © 2001-2015 24seven.FM, LLC All rights reserved.
Comments, images, and trademarks are property of their respective owners.
You can syndicate our news using the file backend.php or ultramode.txt. Robots may follow the Sitemap.